Confirmed: The 2023 Montagna Symposium on the Biology of Skin will be hosted in-person.



Program subject to change


Visualizing the Future of Skin Biology and Dermatology

The 70th anniversary Montagna Symposium on the Biology of Skin, chaired by Dr. Dennis Roop, will take a broad look into the future of skin biology and Dermatology and include sessions on Skin Cancers, Tissue Repair and Fibrosis, Skin Inflammation and Keratinocyte – Immune Cell Cross-talk, and Emerging Therapeutic Approaches. Joe Gray, Ph.D. (OHSU) will provide the keynote speech.

Program Chair
Dennis Roop, Ph.D.

Stuart Yuspa, M.D.
Thomas Krieg, M.D., Ph.D.
Sabine Werner, Ph.D.


Session 1: Skin Cancer, Chair: Stuart Yuspa, M.D. (NIH)
Session 2: Tissue Repair and Fibrosis, Chair: Thomas Krieg, M.D., Ph.D. (Cologne)
Session 3: Keratinocyte – Immune Cell Cross-talk in Skin Inflammation, Chair: Sabine Werner, Ph.D. (ETH Zurich)
Session 4: Innovative Technologies to Visualize and Diagnose the Skin, Chair: Sancy Leachman, M.D., Ph.D. (OHSU)
Session 5: Emerging Therapeutic Approaches, Chair Dennis Roop, Ph.D. (Colorado)


Sponsor Acknowledgement

The Montagna Symposium on the Biology of Skin is made possible due to our generous sponsors:

Sustainer Level Sponsors


Benefactor Level Sponsors



Patron Level Sponsors


Associate Level Sponsors

Knight Cancer Institute
CTA Pathology
Biology of Skin Foundation


Travel Awards made possible thanks to:

  • Society for Investigative Dermatology (Eugene Farber Awards)
  • Japanese Society for Investigative Dermatology
  • Korean Society for Investigative Dermatology